My Top Reads 0f 2011

When I decided I would recommend my favourite books of 2011, I had no idea how difficult it would be. However, after much deliberation, I have chosen the selection below. (I reserve the right to add others I may have overlooked or temporarily forgotten in future posts.)

In no particular order:

The Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins – Look out for the film.

 Bloodlines by Richelle Mead – the new series following on from the Vampire Academy series which I also heartily recommend.

 

Patrick Ness’s Walking Chaos series – hard-hitting sci-fi at its very best.

The Maze Runner and The Scorch Trials, books 1 and 2 in James Dashner’s sci-fi trilogy which boys will enjoy.

The Left Hand of God by Paul Hoffman – tough and uncompromising fantasy with a tough and uncompromising hero. Great stuff.

 

Divergent by Veronica Roth– I love sci-fi and this pushes all the right buttons.

 

Birthmarked and Prized by Caragh O’Brien – Dystopian sci fi with strong likeable characters defying those who would control their lives.

 

Blood Red Road by Moira Young – a dystopian quest / adventure story.

 

Inside Out and Outside In by Maria V. Snyder. Fabulous sci fi.

 

Cloaked by Alex Flinn – Lots of fairytales rolled into one and given a modern twist.

Wither – the first in the Chemical Garden Trilogy by Lauren DeStefano.

 

Unwind by Neal Shusterman– a terrific book but not for the faint-hearted. (I may have cheated here as I first read this book a few years ago but if you like dystopian fiction this is fantastic – but chilling.)

 

The Iron Fey series by Julia Kagawa – I love this series. In The Iron Queen – book three in the series – Meghan Chase finds herself back in the Nevernever facing seemingly impossible odds. Only she can stop the False King and the poison spread by his iron fey. The two rivals for her love, Ash and Puck, travel with her but ultimately she alone can save both the fey and her mortal family.

The fourth book  – The Iron Knight – was supposed to be released on Jan 6 but is available now – yahoo! Meghan is a gutsy heroine and you’ll love Ash.

 

Raised by Wolves and the sequel, Trial by Fire, by Jennifer Lynn Barnes. If you prefer werewolves to vampires, you’ll enjoy this series.

 If you enjoy fantasy and would like a break from vampires and werewolves, I recommend the Faeriewalker series by Jenna Black.

As an English teacher I have the perfect excuse to read lots of books written for teenagers but most – if not all – of the books I read can be enjoyed by adults too.

Here’s to 2012 and lots of great new books.

Leave a Reply

