When love’s at stake…

Sorry, just couldn’t resist making a pun. One up-side of the weather not being all that good this summer is that I’ve not felt guilty about spending a lot of my time reading. As you will see if you check out the new Dark Romance page, much of that reading has been about vampires and werewolves and ghosts.

Until now I hadn’t read the Vampire Academy novels but my daughter has read Richelle Mead’s adult novels and recommended her as a writer so I bought the first book in Waterstone’s. I read it and passed it on to my daughter. After that we were both hooked. We’ve now read all five books in the series and face an agonising wait until December to find out what happens in the sixth and final book.

What makes this series different is that Rose, the narrator, is quite literally a kick ass character. I’m not going to give away the story but if you enjoy this genre but want a heroine with more attitude then here she is. There is, of course, lots of romance, but there’s magic, folklore, adventure and lots of fighting. Don’t blame me, though, if you find the wait for the sixth book unbearable – you have been warned.

Leave a Reply

