Favourite Books

DINOSAUROne of the questions I find most difficult to answer is: What is your favourite book? Essentially there is no one answer for me as I have read lots of books which have made me think or moved me or made me laugh or have meant something to me at a particular time of my life.

This year is the 150th anniversary of the birth of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle the creator of Sherlock Holmes. However, it was his novel “The Lost World” that I read in class in S1. It is the story of a scientific expedition to a plateau in South America where time has stood still and dinosaurs roam freely. I can vividly remember writing more than one essay in class where my character ended up, in one way or another ( knocked unconscious, falling asleep over a history book…) in a world populated by T Rexes and pterodactyls. I loved that book at the time though I’m sure my teacher wasn’t too impressed by the spate of dinosaur stories I insisted on writing.

Why not ask you parents if they still remember a book they read when they were at school and post your findings on this blog.

 

Posted in Books. 3 Comments »

3 Responses to “Favourite Books”

  1. Miss Creighton Says:

    One book I finished recently was ‘The Book Thief’ by Markus Zusak. This book is set in World War 2, and is the story of a young girl named Liesel. The novel is different as it is narrated by Death! I was so moved by this book that I cried for about the last 10 pages-leaving me very snotty indeed!
    Zusak has created very realistic characters and an intriguing plot-I would definitely recommend this book.

  2. Ms Brown Says:

    A book I have read recently that has made me cry: “A Thousand Splendid Suns” by Khaled Hosseini. A really good read; a story about how humanity and friendship can outshine even the most bleak and brutal situations. I challenge anyone to read this and not to be moved…

  3. holly c Says:

    My favourite books are the twilight series and I know most girls my age would say that, but they are excellent! I find the stories so gripping and I read all 4 books in 2 whole weeks because i could not get away from them. The author, Stephenie Meyer, put so much imagination and feeling into it and I am not surprised they made Twilight into a film. I must admit thought that I had never heard of the Twilight series until I saw the film and the film was really brilliant that it made me want to read them. I would recommend this book to anyone who hasn’t yet read it!


Leave a Reply

